Cambodia has an area of ​​181,040 sq km. It bordered to the north-west with Thailand for about 800 km to the north-east by Laos for about 540 km to the east and southeast by Vietnam for about 1228 km. The coast, overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, covers 443 K


The distinctive physical feature is the lacustrine depression of Lake Tonle Sap (Great Lake) with an area of ​​2,590 square kilometers in the dry season and 24,605 ​​square kilometers during the rainy season. This broad plains, densely populated is largely covered by rice and soybean crops. Much of the country is less than 100 m s.l.m. There are, however, in the mountainous areas in the north, the highlands of Phanom Dang Rek and in the southwest, the Cardamom Mountains, with a peak of 1,812 meters high.

Because of the historical events of the last century, Cambodia has lost a good part of the forest. Today 10% of the country is protected by national parks and forests cover about 40% of the country. The policy of economic openness in favor of domestic and international investors favored the concessions of land, especially for mining projects, having a negative influence on the extent of forests.


The two major rivers of the country are the Mekong, which crosses from north-east to south, and the Tonle Sap River emissary of the lake and a tributary of the Mekong. The lakes are present in limited numbers.


The climate of Cambodia is heavily influenced by tropical monsoon, coming from the south (Gulf of Thailand and Indian Ocean) from May to October, or from the northeast from November to March (dry season). The wettest time of the year oscillates between September and October, while the less humid between January and February. Temperatures can vary between 15 ° C to 38 ° C.

Order of the State

Cambodia is divided into 20 provinces (khet) and 4 municipalities (krong), further divided into districts (srok), communes (Khum), villages (phum) and islands (koh).